St. Clement Shrine has a very rich history of prayer and adoration before our Eucharistic Lord.
From Church to Shrine
The history begins on December 8, 1935 with the dedication of the church as Saint Clement Church shortly after it was purchased from the former Universalist Church.
The Archdiocese made St. Clement into a Eucharistic shrine, staffed by the Franciscan Missionaries of Mary, in 1945. From the moment the Sisters occupied the church; two sisters knelt daily in front of the Blessed Sacrament in silent adoration into the late 1960s. Due to Mass. Turnpike construction local churches in the area saw a decline and the shrine was transformed into a ministerial center for college students.
The Oblates of the Virgin Mary began staffing the shrine in 1976 and launched its restoration with numerous repairs and embellishments to help visitors have a wonderful place to meet our Lord. In 1978, the Oblates opened Our Lady of Grace Seminary to form men as future OMV priests and brothers, and this mission continues at St. Clement today.
On August 8, 2009, Perpetual Adoration returned to St. Clement on the feast of our Lady’s Assumption. Our Eucharistic Lord is adored on the exposition throne 24 hours a day, every day.
Support the Anniversary Appeal
Help move us closer to our vision and answer your own call to holiness, service, and evangelization.Donate